Prayers for Back to School

Be Strong and CouageousEvery August, I feel the familiar tug to pray for the upcoming school year.  I think perhaps this year, I am feeling the urgency even more.  My 8 year old …all-too-soon-to-be-9 year old is teetering between little boy and tween.  I can see the struggle to become more independent … to be cool … to be funny … to fit in … to be liked.

I have spent the last few weeks reading some really great books on praying for your children (boys in particular).  “The Power of a Praying Parent” by Stormie Omartian is fabulous.  There are 31 chapters of personal stories, prayers and fighting scriptures.  And then I read “A Mom’s Prayers for Her Son (Praying for Every Part of His Life) by Rob & Joanna Teigen.  This one has 77 chapters, all organized by specific needs/emotions/struggles that a boy goes through.  Both books are incredible at showing you how to cover your child in prayer with scripture.

And so … with the new school year just around the corner … I thought I’d share a few pages from my own “back to school” prayer journal. ❤  One of my favorite school morning traditions that we started when Zachary was in kindergarten was to pray together every morning before he gets out of the car at school.  Sometimes (most times) I pray for him and every once in a while, he’ll lead the prayer.  I will most likely put these prayers on index cards and keep them in the car with me so that we can pray them together before the school day begins.  {If you’d like to make them your own, feel free to put your own child’s name in}

  • Lord, I give him to You … I release Zachary into your care and protection.  Guide me and give me wisdom to raise him.  Deliver me from fear of possible dangers and help me to live in the joy and peace of knowing that You are in control. {1 John 3:22 & Proverbs 2:}  Guard him from people who would influence him to go against Your word.  Give him a respectful spirit toward us (his parents), his teachers, and his coaches.  Help him practice obedience at home as preparation to submit to future leaders in his life.
  • Lord, Give him strength and courage to live for You.  Be real to him.  Show yourself to him in a way that lets him know that You are undoubtedly by his side. Guard his heart from fear and unbelief. (Joshua 1:9)
  • Prayer Day 3Lord, Give him a heart that desires to obey … Your word says that children should honor and obey their parents so that they may inherit Your blessings and enjoy a fruitful life (Ephesians 6:1-3).  I pray that You would continue your work in his life and in his heart. Help him to always choose to obey out of love and respect for You and us (his parents) and give us wisdom to know how to choose our battles.  Show us his strengths and gifts so that we can nurture them.
  • Lord, bury Your word deep in Zachary’s heart so that he would always know the truth.  Give him discernment to recognize false teaching. (Hebrews 13:9)  May his own faith grow strong and withstand any deception that might try to undermine his devotion to you. Help me to encourage and discipline using your Word and help me to live by example.
  • Lord, help him to find a friend.  (Proverbs 12:26) Lead him to a friend who will build him up, cheer him on and encourage him to follow You. Give Zachary those same characteristics to offer back to a friend.  Don’t let him settle for relationships that point him in a different direction. Give him patience to wait for the best friendships You have in store for him. Surround him with positive, Godly influences and help him to be a light for You to everyone around him. Give him the courage to walk away from friendships that do not bear fruit.
  • Lord, protect him from harm. Place a hedge of protection around Zachary.  Protect his spirit, mind, body and emotions from any kind of evil or harm.  Give your angels charge over Zachary, to keep him safe.  In their hands they shall bear him up, lest he dash his foot against a stone (Psalm 91:11-12)  Hide him from any evil influences that would come against him and let no weapon formed against him be able to prosper. Protect him from accidents, disease, injury or any other physical, mental or emotional abuse. Keep him safe in all he does and wherever he goes.  Thank you for your promise of protection. (Isaiah 43:2/54:17, Psalm 91:9-10/4:8)

Prayer is the most powerful weapon a mom has. On the days when the need for discipline seems to never end … and the days when fear threatens to strangle … prayer gives me peace.  It reminds me that there is One who holds my child even closer than I.  One who will watch over him when I can’t and who promises to finish the good work He started in my boy. And I stand on that promise. ❤  Stand strong on His word and on His promises mama’s!

Leave a comment